Project Run(a)way: Part 1

Just a while ago I wrote about Instagram and today I have to again relate to Internet wonders – this time the good, old YouTube.

Some people use it to keep updated with the latest music videos, some people use it for watching funny stuff and I use it to gain new skills – the list is long!

If it wasn’t for YouTube I wouldn’t know how to moonwalk, how to play keyboard, how to sing the Cup Song, I wouldn’t be able to sing the Karmin’s cover of Chris Brown’s ‘Look at me now’, I wouldn’t have seen the tips on how to throw the Great Gatsby party, I wouldn’t know the perfect tennis forehand technique, and so on, and so on…

So when I found myself in need of help with another personal project, I didn’t hestitate for too long. The project itself is… sewing. I wasn’t disappointed with YouTube – you can find thousands of tutorials on how to the stiches, how to cut sleeky fabrics, how to create templates. And so I started with the hem stiches. This is what it should looke like before you start:

image

Then my first try – not a very succesfull one since you can see the thread:

image

And the second try – definitely a better one, but I held the fabric too tight:

image

I also draw the sketch, not a very precise one, but it gives you the idea (also, I really can’t draw very well).

image

If I had any fabrics in the world this probably wouldn’t be the colour or texture I’d use, but this one was available (it was bought for my ballroom dance dress, but I had to quit dancing for some reasons). So I tried to make the best out of it and chose the colour blocking option. Originally the bottom was meant to be just skirt and the top I imagined as a very stiff and geometric, but now I’m thinking of somehow connecting those two pieces to create a dress. We’ll see 🙂

So I thought I would do the little photo documentary of the process. I’ll let you know how the project goes in a while!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

